Tuesday, December 1, 2009

New Orleans: Sugar Bowl CYO high school basketball tournament begins Dec. 2

The Allstate Sugar Bowl 2009 CYO Basketball Tournament will run from Dec. 2-5 and will be played at four local high schools: Brother Martin, Jesuit, Rummel and Shaw. This year marks the 56th year of the tournament.

This year’s event will once again feature 16 teams: Country Day, St. Charles, Rummel, Karr, Brother Martin, St. Thomas Aquinas, St. Augustine, Holy Cross, Shaw, Ellender, Hahnville, Higgins, Jesuit, St. Paul’s, Slidell and Ehret.

In addition to the basketball action, at halftime of the championship game (Saturday, 7:30 p.m., Jesuit High School), the late Johnny Altobello will be honored. Altobello won the first seven CYO tournaments as the coach at DeLaSalle and St. Aloysius (now Brother Martin). The championship trophy for the CYO Tournament will now bear his name. His family and representatives from DeLaSalle and Brother Martin will be on hand for that half-time presentation.

Last year’s event featured 16 boys’ high school teams playing in 25 games. O. Perry Walker registered a 65-59 win over Edna Karr to win the 2008 Championship.

No comments: